Photo provided by DETCOG
Photo provided by DETCOG

AUSTIN – This week, at a reception hosted by the Deep East Texas Council of Governments (DETCOG) and the Deep East Texas Commissioners & Judges, State Representative Trent Ashby (R-Lufkin) was named the Deep East Texas Legislator of the Year. The event which draws hundreds of attendees to Austin for the Opening Day ceremonies is held every two years, just as the Texas Legislature convenes.

“I take great pride in being a voice, not only for the fine folks in my six county legislative district, but for the entire region in Austin,” said Ashby, who is currently the State Representative for House District 57, which encompasses all of Angelina, Houston, Leon, Madison, San Augustine, and Trinity counties. “Receiving this recognition is an honor that I do not take lightly, and I will continue to listen to and consider the views of East Texans whenever I make decisions at the Capitol that impact our district, region, and state as a whole.”

The partnership between DETCOG and the Deep East Texas Commissioners & Judges is truly a regional effort made up of counties, cities, service organizations and private businesses. The group covers twelve counties and Representative Ashby shares representation of this region with House colleagues Ernest Bailes (R-Shepherd), Travis Clardy (R-Nacogdoches), Chris Paddie (R-Marshall), James White (R-Hillister), and also State Senator Robert Nichols (R-Jacksonville).

Lonnie Hunt, Executive Director of DETCOG, had this to say regarding the group: “Their individual strengths, and their willingness to work together, make the Deep East Texas region much stronger, [and] we are truly blessed to have such an effective team representing us in Austin.” Executive Director Hunt continued that Representative Ashby “is well known and very knowledgeable and supportive of the communities he represents and the region as a whole. Deep East Texas is fortunate to have his representation and have him advocating for our needs at the State Capitol.”

Representative Ashby is beginning his third term as a member of the Texas House of Representatives. Currently, Ashby serves as the Chairman of the Appropriations Subcommittee responsible for public and higher education funding, the Vice-Chairman of the Natural Resources Committee, which deals with water issues across Texas, and as a member of House Administration Committee. Trent lives in Lufkin with his family and is the Angelina County Chairman of Citizens National Bank.